Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

All Aged Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
All Aged Stakes 1 Randwick Racecourse All Aged Stakes

All Aged Stakes

The All Aged Stakes is a Gr 1 Australian weight-for-age horse race contested in April every year at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney over a distance of 1400m. It currently carries a purse of AUD$400,000 and is one of the oldest races in Australia, having been inaugurated in 1868, making the race 140 years old in 2008.

The All Aged Stakes is considered to be a sprint race and is always held on the final day of Randwick's popular autumn carnival. Up until 2003, the All Aged Stakes used to be run over a distance of 1600m.

Since then, the race's current shorter distance has proved to be a perfect stepping stone for Sydney trainers. Run just one week after the 1200m TJ Smith Stakes (Gr 1) at Randwick, trainers can gauge just how their charges handle the extra 200m.

As such, since the distance was changed, only two horses have proved triumphant in both races - Shamekha in 2005 and Bentley Biscuit in 2007. At the All Aged Stakes' old distance of 1600m, only one horse has ever won the race three times - Ajax, a great war time stallion who was triumphant in 1938, 1939 and 1940.

Ajax also won top races such as the Caulfield Stakes, the Cox Plate, the Futurity Stakes (three times), the CB Fisher Plate, the Newmarket Handicap, the LKS MacKinnon Stakes, the Memsie Stakes (three times) and the Underwood Stakes (three times). He was inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame in 2004.

All Aged Stakes - Past Winners

2005 Shamekha
2006 Paratroopers
2007 Bentley Biscuit
2008 Racing To Win
2009 Danleigh

All Aged Stakes - Betting

All Aged Stakes preview

All Aged Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Queensland Derby
  • AJC Metropolitan Handicap
  • AJC Oaks
  • AJC Queen Elizabeth Stakes
  • Champagne Stakes
  • George Main Stakes
  • Flight Stakes
  • Doncaster Handicap

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:47 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011