Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Alcibiades Stakes

Race Name Grade Track ?
Alcibiades Stakes 1 Keeneland Race Course Alcibiades Stakes

Alcibiades Stakes

The Alcibiades Stakes is an American Grade 1 flat horse race for thoroughbred two-year-old fillies over 1 1/16 miles on Polytrack, and is run in October each year at Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, Kentucky. The race currently has a purse of $500,000 and has been sponsored by Darley Racing since 2003.

Inaugurated in 1952, the Alcibiades Stakes started as a seven furlong race, but from 1956 to 1980 was run over seven furlongs 184 feet. In 1981 it switched to its current distance of 1 1/16 miles. The Alcibiades Stakes was named after great American thoroughbred mare, Alcibiades, who died in 1957 at the age of 30.

In 1973 the Alcibiades Stakes was awarded its Gr 3 status which in 1976 was upgraded to a Gr 2 status. In 2007 it was upgraded to Gr 1 status. At the same time the race saw an impressive increase in its purse to half a million dollars, and has since become one of the most highly anticipated races at Keeneland.

The Alcibiades Stakes was run over dirt until 2006 when Keeneland Race Course officials installed a Polytrack synthetic surface. As part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge 'Win and You're In' program, each year the winner of the Alcibiades Stakes receives an automatic berth in that year's Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies.

The fastest time over the Alcibiades Stakes' current distance was set in 1992 by Eliza in a time of 1:43.20. Top jockey Don Brumfield has won the race a record three times: in 1968, 1972 and 1982, while leading trainer D. Wayne Lukas has celebrated six wins: in 1983, 1988, 1989, 1993, 1995 and 2003.

Alcibiades Stakes - Past Winners

2004 Runway Model
2005 She Says It Best
2006 Bel Air Beauty
2007 Country Star
2008 Dream Express

Alcibiades Stakes - Betting

Alcibiades Stakes preview

Alcibiades Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Fountain Of Youth Stakes
  • El Camino Real Derby
  • Sam F. Davis Stakes
  • Frizette Stakes
  • Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes
  • Norfolk Stakes
  • Oak Leaf Stakes
  • Vosburgh Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:09:22 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011